“An Idea about flying” rebutted

Wednesday, Bashiok, stellar Community Manager for Blizzard, posted a nice story about why they are restricting flight in the new expansion, Warlords of Draenor to patch 6.1. It is very nicely written but I think, has some fundamental flaws with it. Not in the grammar or structure, or anything like that. Some of the ideas as to why it’s “needed”. Let’s break it down shall we?

No flying while leveling has been the case during Burning Crusade, Wrath of the Lich King, and Mists of Pandaria. – Bashiok

I believe flying was available in Wrath at level 77. Which in my opinion was perfect. I’d love to hear an explanation why they moved from that model.

Flying allows you to escape or enter combat at-will. – Bashiok

So does Stealth, Camouflage, Feign Death, Invisibility and Shadowmeld. Should we restrict those to 6.1?

Bashiok then goes on to note that the maps would have to get bigger because we would fly through the zones much quicker. With all due respect, that is pretty weak.

There are reasons they want to restrict flight, reasons which they don’t want to come out and say. 1. Artificially gate content. Basically slow us down so the leveling world feels more populated. 2. Make the world “more dangerous”. As if that equates to a funner experience. For some people it will. For most, they will ride through packs of mounts and fight only when necessary. 3. More targets for ganking. I could be off base here, but I really don’t think so.

The thing I don’t get is, flying puts people out in the world. So after many players get to 100, what incentive do they have to go out on a ground mount? Most likely, they will be in their Garrison or in a dungeon/Battleground queue.

I’m fairly addicted to WoW at this point. When my sub runs out, I play on my trial account. It inspires me. Reconnects me with how it was when I first started. I blog about WoW, as you can see. I want what’s best for the game. I am all for restricting flight on your first character to the level cap. Let them unlock it for the rest. Beyond that, I feel it’s very restricting and hampering how I played the game from Wrath to Mists. I didn’t like no flying until 90, I understand why they did it though. I didn’t feel any more sense of danger because I was grounded. I don’t understand why they didn’t open it up for alts later on, but at least you could unlock it at 90, on your terms.

Waiting until 6.1 just feels like a strong arm move to repress the way we enjoy the game. I am not a fan of those tactics and I might, for the first time since I have been playing Warcraft, decide to delay my purchase of the expansion based on that principle. An intelligent consumer votes with their wallet. I hope I have the willpower to do just that.

This entry was posted in Warcraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “An Idea about flying” rebutted

  1. Arakkoa says:

    The biggest mistake I see in the developer attitudes (it might be Ghostcrawler radiating to others) is making everything dangerous and challenging.

    Dangerous =/= fun. While levelling through Hellfire Peninsula or some vanilla zones may have been dangerous, it was far from fun. It was to me very frustrating. If someone wants to go through gauntlets of tightly packed, quickly respawning mobs, let him do it. But don’t force people who do *not* find it fun to go through it.

  2. Emma says:

    It does seem completely opposite of their continued move toward making the game more accessible and “easier.” I’m not really opposed to this personally, but it’s inconsistent with the philosophical direction they’ve gone in regarding game design. They’ve made it pretty clear they have some kind of internal personal vendetta against flying at Blizzard, but don’t punish the players because you don’t like how something that is now an integral part of the game turned out.

    • oxxo910 says:

      I agree. I love how it worked in Wrath. You unlock it at 77, you get to 80 and later on could by a tome for your alts. Made sense. This to me, makes no sense at all.

  3. Maryalee says:

    I agree with all of this completely. I have said same arguments on twitter to different people. I also have been considering whether I would delay buying to make a point. It would hurt my guild because I’m one of the two main tanks, so it isn’t something I can just casually decide to do. I would need to become way more perturbed over it than I currently am, but Bashiok did not help my feelings on the matter.

  4. Pingback: Operation: Save money! | Sportsbard

Leave a Reply

