Top 10 favorite songs of the 80s

Okay, for you whipper snappers out there, you might not have more than 1 or 2. Although I will say I have found a lot of younger folks (people 10+ years younger than myself) who like 80’s music. These might not be the most popular songs but songs that remind me of moments in my childhood/teen years.

10. Hungry like the Wolf– Duran Duran. #10 you say?? All of these can probably be #1 in my book, this was probably one of the first songs my friends and I recorded off the radio in our little boom boxes. That was a thing back then!

9. Jessie’s girl– Rick Springfield. Singer, actor, heart-throb. Paging Dr. Drake. Trivia question: What other rocker/actor was on general hospital in the 80s then went on to have a hit single? Answer below…

9. Mr. Roboto– Styx. I could very easily do a top 10 Styx songs (and I put that out last week!)

8. Photograph– Def Leppard. If you remember the program “Friday Night Videos” you will remember seeing this video and hearing this song played all over the radio in the summer of 1983. Good times.

7. Down under– Men at Work. Men at work were one of my favorite 80s bands. Loved their videos. Always upbeat and light hearted.

6. Every breath you take– Police. Never get tired of this classic. Reminds me of summertime watching videos. I guess I did that a lot :p

5. Sunglasses at night– Corey Hart. He was more than a 1-hit wonder. This guy always reminded me of a younger Harrison Ford. I should throw in “Never surrender” as a bonus–I just did!

4. 867-5309 (Jenny)– Tommy Tutone. Probably one of the most identifiable songs of the time period.

3. Born in the USA– Brice Springsteen. One of my favorite artists of all time. This song still gives me goosebumps when I hear it on the radio.

2. I want to know what love is– Foreigner. A great 80s tune. Reminds me of going to carnivals in the summer when I was a teeny bopper. Almost makes you want to fall in love. Almost.

1. In the air tonight– Phil Collins. This man owned the decade. Set the mood and helped define a TV series (Miami Vice). I will definitely need to do a top 10 PC songs list in the near future.

*Answer: Jack Wagner, “All I need”

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Top 10 favorite songs of the 80s

  1. Nev says:

    I have all of Phil Collins albums from that time & I borrowed a friends Police albums to have my own cassettes of – with names like Zenyatta Mondatta, Outlandos D’Amour & Regatta de Blanc, they are hard to forget too! But then you have songs listed that I’ve never even heard of!

    I’d have to include Blue Monday by New Order and Come on Eileen by Dexy’s Midnight Runners but after that there are so many, I’d have to do a top 50 or 100! Queen, David Bowie, The Jam, Blondie, Madness, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Human League, my list is endless!

    The 80’s was a time of huge variety in music – punk & electronic synth stuff from the late 70’s still going strong early on, emerging New Romantic stuff then the dance music & soft rock & of course, the age of the manufactured boy bands & overproduced ‘pop’. It’s still my favorite era though!

  2. ravyncat says:

    I remember Friday Night Videos! (I had forgotten it until you brought it up.) We never had cable so that was the only way I ever saw music videos as a kid.

    My top 10 list would have to include Michael Jackson. Whatever happened later, he was awesome.
    I loved the Beat It video and also Billy Jean. Thriller is in a class all by itself.

    I also must include Madonna. I still love the hell out of her. (Had lots of fights with my mom because I wanted to wear pumps and corsets to school when I was 12 because of her. fashion sense.) I loved the Lucky Star video when I was a kid. Actually I loved all her videos. All Madonna all the time!

    The Gogos and the Bangles also need representation. I guess I prefer girl bands!

    Trivia: My favorite video was a one hit wonder. Take on Me by A-Ha. I still love that cheesy video. I love how the comics come to life and the heroine gets pulled into the comic world. XD

    First runner up is Safety Dance by Men Without Hats. I loved that one because it was like a Ren Faire and there were dancing little people and puppets. >.>;;

    • oxxo910 says:

      Nice! Glad you liked it. I think a top 10 was too small. I should have done it by year :p I like a lot of what you mentioned too, especially “safety dance”.

  3. Roldy says:

    Cool list but of course IMO (lol) you’re missing the some of the best numbers of the 80s. As a fan of the period, in no particular order some of the best ‘pop’ bands…

    1. A Flock of Seagulls – I Ran http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iIpfWORQWhU
    2. Duran Duran – Girls on Film http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T18K-BcZZb4
    3. New Order – True Faith http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_rhnHpRSXQ
    4. Blondie – Heart of Glass http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGU_4-5RaxU
    5. The Clash – London Calling http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfK-WX2pa8c
    (I know not recorded in the 80s but certainly a part of the period)
    6. Phil Colins – Sussudio http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0qBaBb1Y-U
    7. Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qeMFqkcPYcg
    8. David Bowie – Let’s Dance http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4d7Wp9kKjA
    9. Depeche Mode – Personal Jesus http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNd4eocq2K0
    10. Soft Cell – Tainted Love http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oEh5pWjcWCg

    • oxxo910 says:

      Yeah. I quickly realized I should have done a top 10 per year. It’s something I am going to revisit down the line. Thanks for posting your list–I love all those songs 🙂

  4. Pingback: Rock-in the new year! | Sportsbard

Leave a Reply

