Blizzard: It’s time to earn perks

With all this discussion about the price point for “boosting” characters to 90 and how so many people are eager to throw their money at Blizzard (or mad at people for wanting to) I started thinking back to some ideas I have had before. Blizzard should let us earn perks. It may sound entitled on the surface, but is it? If you think so, I have a little phrase for you: “A fool and their money is soon parted”, dwell on that for a moment.

I’ve been paying Blizzard since January 2009. No that is not a typo. I have never missed a month of subs. $900 just in subscriptions alone. $30 for the Battlechest, $40 a piece for Wrath, Cata and Mists. $1,050. Not counting a couple pets and a mount. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I didn’t enjoy it. I still think the subs are good value, if you break it down month by month. But now you are asking me to pay to skip content I have been paying into for 5 years? Really? I’m not demanding anything, status quo is great. But I think it would be nice if we had a way to earn some perks for our continued patronage.

Blizzard offers a lot of customizations and soon, “level boosting”. I think it’s awesome that they are giving everyone a free “boost” to 90 with the purchase of Warlords of Draenor. It’s a savvy business move and a good way to ensure the game has lots of players at endgame in their next expansion. Kudos to them.

My proposal is that everyone can unlock certain perks over time by simply paying Blizzard to play their beloved game. I would start it from ground zero and not exclude anyone. Every 10-12 months of paid service you get your choice of a customization. I might even throw something extra for the service to be continuous, perhaps more frequent usage or less of a cool down. For every character you get to max level you would earn a 10 level boost, that could be added up. So, 10 max level toons could get you a boost to 100. Not asking Blizzard to break the bank or bend over backwards, just a simple acknowledgement in the form of a well earned perk every now and then.

Like perks? Like throwing money away? Or are you indifferent? Let me know in the comments down under.

This entry was posted in Warcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

