Do you miss saxophones in your music?

Saxophones are cool. Not used as much in pop songs today as they were in years past, which is a shame. Clarence Clemons may have been the coolest of the bunch. Kenny G, took the sax to another level. Let’s listen to a few.

One more night– Phil Collins uses a lot of saxophone in his songs. I could probably do a top 10 of his alone. Since I want to include others, I will just list this one 😉

Secret Garden– Another artist who employed one of the most famous saxophone players, Clarence Clemons, the solo in this song just makes me want to melt into a puddle of–I don’t know. It makes me have serious thoughts about wanting to learn how to play one.

Take a walk on the wild side– Classic Lou reed.

Us and them – A nice melodic romp from the epic Pink Floyd. Drink it up!

Waiting on a friend– I just love this song. The sax is the incing on an incredibly tasty cake.

I wanna go back– Eddie Money. You get hit with the sax right up front. I like it that way. Hit me early and often. I’m still talking about saxophone here. Don’t get crazy.

Endless Summer Nights– This Richard Marx classic sports some decent sax.

There are more songs out there, most of which that I have forgotten or haven’t heard in a while. I will edit this when I am “reminded” of them. Saxophone is delicious. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you miss saxophones in your music?

  1. mrandmrswow says:

    This is 90% of what I do as a day job so I can’t say I miss it. I do, however, miss hearing something other than Twinkle Twinkle / Hot Cross Buns.

    Personally I think the Clarinet is much cooler, but I may be biased ^^

  2. Hasteur says:

    Coletrane “My Favorite Things” http://youtu.be/qWG2dsXV5HI
    Dave Brubeck 5 (Paul Desmond) “Take Five” http://youtu.be/o2In5a9LDNg

Leave a Reply

