Homemade Big Mac

I’ve tried this once before and failed. Failed bad. The key is the Big Mac sauce. There are lots of recipes on the internet for this. The one I made was pretty spot on and simple. Now if you are attempting this, you are going for the flavor of the Big Mac, don’t try to upscale it. You will be disappointed.

The only problem with the video is it doesn’t have measurements. This is kind of a problem. For me, I kind of eyeballed it, which is right up my alley.

The sauce:

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise (I used Hellman’s. I heard the original recipe was Miracle Whip)
  • 2 tbs yellow mustard
  • 2 tbs sweet pickle relish
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika

Whisk that all up and put in your fridge for at least an hour or overnight.

The meat:

You want 2 2 oz patties per burger you are making. The trick, is getting them nice and flat and keeping the round shape. I don’t have one of those fancy rings, so mine came out a little funky. I need to get one of those deals. You can wing it but it actually comes out better if you get it right. Too much meat actually throws the “balance” off. Cook to your desired taste. Don’t forget the salt and pepper! Tip: put your burgers in a pot with a lid or wrap them in foil to keep them warm.

The bun:

I got a package of sesame seed buns from the market. Nothing fancy. I used 2 “bottoms” and a top. I melted some butter and brushed both sides. Then I toasted them for about 5 minutes at 375 degrees. The buns actually came out perfect.

The rest:

  • Iceberg lettuce, chopped
  • white onion, diced fine
  • dill pickles, sliced
  • American cheese (1 slice per burger)

Assemble just like in the video: put about a tsp of sauce on both “bottom” buns, then some onion and lettuce. Put a slice of “American cheese” on the bottom, put 2-3 pickles on the “middle”. Put your burgers on next and stack. You are now ready to enjoy your homemade Big Mac!

This entry was posted in Food&Beverage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Big Mac

  1. Pingback: Life’s been good to me so far! | Sportsbard

  2. I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was having a look for.
    You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.
    Bye

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday to me: 2 years! | Sportsbard

Leave a Reply

