Should PvP be separate from PvE?

This is a question that comes up a lot. I know I used to ask it often when I first started playing. I love World PvP and will do BGs to gear for it. I don’t think the game should be balanced behind it though. I don’t know if it’s time to do this or I am telling tales out of school, but it feels like it.

As hard as they have been trying, it seems like PvP and PvE just are too hard to balance. As much as they tweak gear and keep upping base resilience, there seems to be a bigger and bigger gap between the fresh or even moderately geared players and the well geared players. I know there is more to it than just the gear. The folks in the top gear are probably putting a lot more time and effort into their characters as well.

One thing I would like them to do is let you earn things you can only get by PvE-ing by PvPing. I’m talking about reputation, more experience, gold and vanity items. I’m sure most PvPers don’t want to run dungeons or quest a whole lot to level.

The other thing I would do is get rid of resilience. Adding more doesn’t seem to helping things. The whole deal with PvP Power and PvP Healing isn’t very compelling either. Again, I could be talking out of my rear, but I think some real hard choices need to be made.

If they really want PvP to live up to it’s potential and be an eSport, than I think finally separating the two is necessary. We could still have BGs and World PvP, but I would stop trying to balance both games around it.

Comments are always welcome. Feel free to add yours down below!

This entry was posted in Warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

