What do you want your team to draft?

If you have paid any amount of attention to your team’s General Manager over the years, I’m sure you have heard the phrase, “best player available”. If not, welcome to Draft Cliches 101! In a perfect world, your team would do that with every pick. This is reality. They don’t. GMs love to gamble. They might get enamored with someone who runs a sub 4.4 or can bench 225 lbs 30+ times or can throw the ball on a line 60 yards down field. But as a fan, what do you want in this years NFL draft?

Ah, Mick Jagger said it best. You just might find, you get what you need. Whether your team finished last place or won the Superbowl, they have needs. Some teams have more needs than others. My team, the Chicago Bears need a lot of help on defense. Mainly a playmaker who can rush and disrupt the Quarterback. Secondly, a player that can help stop the run. Last year the Bears gave up a record 2,583 rushing yards. By week 5 or 6, I was picking my Fantasy Football running backs by who they were facing each week. It hurt to do, but there was money on the line. I also had to let them go as a D/ST after they gave me some good points just a week or two before.

At the top of my list is Defensive End, Dee Ford out of Auburn. He was dominant vs Florida State and dominant at the Senior Bowl. I am still surprised there isn’t more of a buzz for him. This is actually a good thing, because he probably should be taken inside the top 10. The other player that intrigues me is Defensive Tackle Aaron Donald from Pittsburgh. I will admit, prior to the NFL Combine, I did not know who he was. I watched the Senior Bowl and a couple of practices but didn’t remember him standing out. I did read he was hard to block down there, and that bodes well as an indicator for possible NFL success.

I would also be happy with one of the top Cornerbacks or Safeties in this years draft. I think both top corners, Gilbert and Dennard will be gone before the Bears pick at #14. They may have a shot at one of the safeties, either Ha’Sean Clinton-Dix or Calvin Pryor.

There are a handful of teams who are in a good position to draft the best player available. New England, Denver, Seattle and San Francisco are all in a pretty good spot. The Bears actually did a nice job, especially landing DE Jared Allen after cutting Julius Peppers.

So what are you hoping your team gets in this years NFL draft?

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

