You can’t go home again (or can you?)

Today’s big news in the sports world is that NBA superstar LeBron James is headed back to his home state to play pro ball. I have to admit I have always admired and respected the basketball player. Today I respect the man. I wrote about a few men in Chicago who matured pretty much before our eyes. It wasn’t the simple fact LeBron went back to Cleveland, it was what he said.

In particular, this quote: “In Northeast Ohio, nothing is given. Everything is earned. You work for what you have. I’m ready to accept the challenge. I’m coming home”

I got chills when I heard that read on a local sports radio show. Cleveland could use a shot of good fortune. Especially the sports fans, which bleeds into the everyday lives of so many. As a lifelong Cubs fan, believe me. I know. Cleveland’s sports history is littered with disappointing finishes and watching champions march through their stadiums. Sure there was a nice period in the 90s when the Indians had some success. As a Bulls fan, I can tell you, that flame dies beneath a decade or so of losing.

So kudos to LeBron for making this more about life and less about stringing championships together. Even though, you can have both. Today I became a fan of the man, not just the star hoops player who is giving his former team a second shot.

“In Northeast Ohio, nothing is given. Everything is earned. You work for what you have. I’m ready to accept the challenge. I’m coming home.”Read more at: http://nesn.com/2014/07/lebron-james-essay-shows-stars-growth-reminds-people-hes-imperfect/
“In Northeast Ohio, nothing is given. Everything is earned. You work for what you have. I’m ready to accept the challenge. I’m coming home.”Read more at: http://nesn.com/2014/07/lebron-james-essay-shows-stars-growth-reminds-people-hes-imperfect/
“In Northeast Ohio, nothing is given. Everything is earned. You work for what you have. I’m ready to accept the challenge. I’m coming home.”Read more at: http://nesn.com/2014/07/lebron-james-essay-shows-stars-growth-reminds-people-hes-imperfect/

 

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

