This Week in Naxxramas: Plague Quarter

Welcome back to This Week in Naxxramas. The Plague Quarter opened up promptly at 11:59 last Tuesday, PDT. After a slight hitch, I got in and met the first boss head-on!

Noth the Plaguebringer

Noth the Plaguebringer.

First up is Noth the Plaguebringer. As you can see, I got a really good draw on my mage. Dispatched him with no problem.

Noth defeated

Stoneskin Gargoyle.

Defeating Noth unlocks the Stoneskin Gargoyle cards, a 1/4 minion for 3 mana. At the end of your turn it is healed to full health. Not great, but it does have possibilities.

Heigan the Unclean

Heigan the Unclean. Send him to the showers!

You are now ready to fight Heigan the Unclean.

Heigan defeated

Unstable Ghoul.

Defeating Heigan rewards you with the Unstable Ghoul card. My favorite of the Plague Wing neutral cards. A 1/3 minion with taunt, for 2 mana. It has a Deathrattle that does 1 damage to all minions. This is both an interesting card with all the new Deathrattles and interesting in buff decks as well.

Loatheb

Loatheb and his 75 health!

My initial reaction to Loatheb was: 75 health for a normal boss? This had to be a bug, right? Nope. Not a bug.

Loatheb defeated

Sludge Belcher.

Defeating Loatheb grants you the Sludge Belcher card. A 3/5 minion with a Deathrattle that summons a 1/2 slime with taunt. An interesting card if you are building a “Deathrattle” deck. Completing the Plague Wing unlocks the Loatheb legendary.

Loatheb unlocked!

Legendary card: Loatheb.

A 5/5 legendary card that makes spells for your opponent cost 5 more on their next turn. I’m pretty “cool” on this card. I can’t see this card really making it into any of my decks. It seems highly situational. Beating all three bosses also opens up two more class challenges: Mage and Hunter!

Mage and Hunter class challenges

Mage and Hunter class challenges.

I was really happy to get to these two challenges. Probably my favorite two class cards in this expansion.

Detect a theme

I detect a theme here…

The hunter challenge starts out with an interesting predicament: You only get 1 card type, which incidentally, is the reward for completing this challenge, the Webspinner. I had to do this one a few times. Having beat this boss already, I knew the gimmick. It would take some luck…

This is how you do it! Loatheb

This is a can of whoop-ass!

Not going to ruin anyone’s fun, but the end result looks a little like this! A huge can of whoop-ass is about to be opened!

Wbespinner

Webspinner.

The Webspinner is a nice hunter card that is a 1/1 Beast with a cool Deathrattle: Add a random Beast card to your hand. Not super awesome but not bad. Especially if you have a Scavenging Hyena or Starving Buzzard on board.

The mage challenge was less memorable for me. So much, I completely don’t remember it. It rewards a really nifty card though, Duplicate.

Mage challenge defeated

Duplicate is a 3 mana spell, which is a Secret. I only run 2 Secrets in both my mage decks, “Mirror Entity” which I think is one of the coolest and powerful of them all. Duplicate looks like it will be right there. Just huge potential, especially if your friendly minion is a legendary card 😉

Done with this guy! Heigan

Done with this guy!

Sometimes I get really lucky with screen shots. This is probably my favorite Hearthstone screenie I have captured so far. Absolutely priceless. I hope you guys have as much fun with Naxx: Plague Quarter as I did. See you next week!

This entry was posted in Warcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Week in Naxxramas: Plague Quarter

  1. Pingback: Curse of Naxxramas: Constuct Quarter | Sportsbard

  2. Pingback: Card of the Week: Duplicate | Sportsbard

Leave a Reply

