5 best football movies of all time

The 2014 NFL football season has started Thursday night was the kickoff game. The majority of the other games will be played on Sunday, including my beloved Bears as they take on one of my adopted teams, the Buffalo Bills. I will be so excited Saturday I will have problems falling asleep. I kid you not. So one of the things I like to do the night before is watch a football movie or two. I have a few favorites.

I love “The Replacements”. Partially because I was around in 1987 when the last major strike happened. The other part is, it’s just a good movie. Who doesn’t like a Linebacker who drinks while wearing a mini sombrero?

Any Given Sunday– This Oliver Stone film is probably the most accurate version of the NFL to date. A very serious film, done by a very serious directer.

Waterboy– Adam Sandler as the 30 something year old freshman who decides to open up a can of whoop-ass and play college football, much to his mother’s displeasure.

Varsity Blues– James Van Der Beek as the reluctant backup high school Quarterback in a small Texas town. It was the Friday Night Lights, before Friday Night Lights!

The Longest Yard– I am going to cheat here and include the 1974 and the 2005 versions in this category. Two for the price of one, twice the fun! Seriously, the 1974 version is a classic. You should check it out if you haven’t seen it.

Did I miss one of your favorites? Feel free to add it in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5 best football movies of all time

  1. Bugboy says:

    You are a native Chicagoan, a rabid enough Bears fan to blog about them…and you forgot “Brian’s Song”? Geez, remind me never to raid with you, who knows what you’ll forget mid-fight. 😉 I’m joking of course, but man, BRIAN’S SONG.

  2. Bugboy says:

    Also: the Replacements was, in my opinion, not only a good but also underrated movie. Along the same lines, may I suggest Necessary Roughness, http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0102517/?ref_=nm_flmg_act_77. Made almost a decade earlier, it’s sort of a college football version of The Replacements. And it has Kathy Ireland. Again: Kathy Ireland. 🙂

    Finally, how do you insert the hyperlink into text? Sorry for not being able to do so with the link to Necessary Roughness.

  3. Bugboy says:

    Okay, just one more thing, I promise, lol: a classic rock suggestion for the Saturday before the first NFL Sunday of the year:

Leave a Reply

