Are you down with the Creedence?

As I was a child of the 70s, I grew up with classic rock and CCR was definitely all over the radio. I have always had appreciation for John Fogerty and his dulcet tones. The Dude was a big fan and so am I!

Up around the bend– Filled with positive energy, this upbeat song is possibly the first one I remember. I probably called it the “do do do da” song. I was young.

Run through the jungle– This one was used in many a Vietnam era movie, among others.

The old man down the road– A John Fogerty solo song, but let’s face it, it’s a lot like Tom Petty or Phil Collins, a very similar product to his group efforts.

Born on the bayou– Another CCR song that was probably used in a few ‘Nam movies. Good rock and roll. Fogerty shows off a grittier side to his vocals.

Centerfield– Not really a CCR song but this is classic Fogerty and used in a couple baseball movies. I can’t listen to this song and not be instantly transported to spring or mid summer.

Who’ll stop the rain– A great “rain” song. Even though it might not really be about rain per se. A subtle anti-political message? You decide.

Fortunate son– Some people went off to war. Some people sang songs that were about the war. Fogerty almost did the former. Instead, he took a ride in the Army reserve and was lucky to get out. I’d say that was pretty fortunate. For him and us. Ironic?

Bad moon rising– I liked this song even before I saw “American Werewolf in London” as a kid. After that, I liked it even more. How can he make something scary so upbeat? Magic!

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are you down with the Creedence?

  1. Bugboy says:

    Down with them I am. But you left out their best song! Well, okay, my favorite song, but anyway: Down on the Corner. And yeah, the scene in American Werewolf where they use Bad Moon Rising is a classic.

Leave a Reply

