Unless you are a complete cynic, Cubs arrow pointing up

Theo Epstein went over the State of the Union address for Cubs Nation on Tuesday. He outlined a few things and let the good fans of Chicago and beyond know how he felt about the progress. Unless you are a complete cynic, blinded by 106 years of bitter disappointment, you might realize the Cubs arrow is pointing up. Finally.

I wrote about it over the summer, I saw the signs, the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel. I am digging it. I went through ’84, ’89 and ’03. I paid my dues. I was completely skeptical when Theo and Jedd waltzed into town on their white horses. I watched as Castro and Rizzo took huge steps back in their process. Let me tell you, I was hanging by a thread. I decided last year, I like summer baseball and no matter what, I was going to stick with my team.

Midway through 2014, I was rewarded. It was clear to anyone with functional eyes, Rizzo and Castro came back into form. Rizzo had to be voted into the All Star game, but we got that done. Then came the “cookies” as Theo referred to what he would not do. Alcantara. Baez in August. Soler. With Jake Arrieta and Kyle Hendricks adding some real fine pitching. The light that was so dim as early as April, kept getting brighter, and brighter, and brighter.

It’s not completely daylight, but brother (and sister) it’s not as dark and gloomy as it usually is this time of year.

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unless you are a complete cynic, Cubs arrow pointing up

  1. Bugboy says:

    Look for Castro to be traded in the offseason, with Addison Russell and the other blue chip SS prospect they have ready to go next season. Now if it were me, I’d keep all three, shift the second best fielder among the thre to 2B, and the third best to third, but that’s the Bill McKechnie fan in me. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_McKechnie (he was the most defense-first great manager of all time, constantly playing three nominal shortstops in the infield). But, when you have excess pieces to deal, you deal them, and plug holes at other positions.
    All that said, yeah, I think you’re right. Theo’s got things moving in the right direction. Bonne chance, mon ami.

    • oxxo910 says:

      My feeling was to trade Castro as soon as he showed signs of bouncing back from last year’s awful season. I think I would wait a little bit to see what Baez does next spring. Castro’s hitting is too unpredictable. He always seems more likely to hit into a DP rather than move a runner over or get a hit. I love Baez’s defense and awareness.

Leave a Reply

