What would you do without WoW?

I face this reality as patch 6.02 dropped on Tuesday. My 5 year old machine looks like it can no longer run the flashy graphics and crisp sounds. I knew I was going to need a new PC if I wanted to partake in all the goodness that is Warlords of Draenor, but I was hoping I could still get by and do some stuff at least. Alas, it is not in the cards. So what will I do now?

Well, first of all, I will get a little more serious about saving up for that new PC. I’m not going to make the mistake and get one with a really crappy integrated video card that couldn’t really be upgraded.

It looks like I will be writing more, which is good. However, it might not be on Warcraft. Although, if this is my first post sans the game I love, I suppose there is some irony. It does bring up a question for me: Should there be a lower grade version of Warcraft? One that you didn’t need a current/high end PC to run the game on? I know people have been asking for “nostalgia/legacy” servers for a while. Would this make sense? I’m sure there might be a few people in the same boat as I am, an older PC with no means to upgrade for probably 4-6 months.

DalaranDisco2

No more ‘Dalaran disco’ for a little while /sadface.

So, what to do in the meantime? As I said, probably a lot of writing, watching movies, maybe looking into some older games. Perhaps even some of the older Warcraft games. What would you do if you suddenly could not play Warcraft for one reason or another? Feel free to let me know in the comments below!

Edit: I finally got around to exchanging a video card I bought a while back (was full size–needed low profile). Had my buddy install it and can now run WoW pretty good. My position still stands on the nostalgia/legacy server or some other lower resolution option for people who can’t afford an upgrade.

This entry was posted in Warcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What would you do without WoW?

  1. gbrat says:

    You by no means needs a high end computer to play wow. What the hell makes you think that?
    Actually, I think my old arse PC runs this new patch far easier than MoP

Leave a Reply

