Quiet pain

Quiet pain

11-5-14

The sun goes down, the moon comes up

The daylight hides the cracks, shadows make it rough

Disaster lies in waiting, in wasted lies and hidden truth

I’ve broken all the rules, this wool cannot disguise

I’ve been a sheep all my life, it’s time for sunrise

The quiet pain

The quiet shame

It’s the game within the game, we play

It’s not the choice but the choice is made

I feel the laughter calling out my name

I close my eyes and wander ’round, I hear a quiet voice

Could it be reason, could it be insanity?

I never seem to listen, I never seem to care at all

I analyze the data, search my feelings to a fault

Perhaps my biggest flaw, I’ve played it to a draw, again

The quiet pain

The quiet shame

It’s the game within the game, we play

It’s not the choice but the choice is made

I feel the laughter calling out my name

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

