Who’s at your “80s star” dinner table?

Former Chicago Bears long snapper and current WSCR 670 AM radio host, Patrick Mannelly asked this question on twitter. I immediately loved it and knew it would take a few words to really flesh out. I couldn’t just plop 5 words down and respond. What fun would that be? So, to the blog I went and here’s what I got! (in no particular order)

Mr. Mannelly changed his question up on me as I was writing this. I’m sticking with the original question!

Freddie Mercury– The former Queen frontman who tragically lost his life to AIDS in 1991. It’s fitting that a Queen song popped on the radio just as I was answering this question! Having loved Queen since I was like 10 years old, it would be a dream come true to have had dinner with Mr. Mercury or anyone from the band. I even did a write up and am using their music as motivation for my fantasy football team this season!

Bill Murray– Caddyshack, Stripes, Ghostbusters–hard to pick one among those. The one thing in common: Bill Murray. It’s hard to think of him as an “80s star” but he did have a lot of success in that decade. From Saturday Night Live to sitting along side Steve Stone when Harry Caray was in the hospital to broadcast a Cubs game. He was all over.

Harrison Ford– Tough to find a more popular actor in the 80s than this man. Most actors never get to perform one iconic role in their career, let alone two. Han Solo and Indiana Jones are the roles this actor is most known for. Ford would also star in the Sci-Fi cult classic Blade Runner and go on to have quite a stellar career.

Billy Crystal– Has always been one of my favorite comedians. From when I was little and watched the sitcom SOAP to starring in movies such as Running Scared and Throw Momma from the Train. Crystal had a lot of success in the 90s and beyond, but was a pretty big deal in the 80s as well.

Robin Williams– Burst on our TVs as Mork from Ork on the sitcom Mork and Mindy. Williams would go on to conquer the silver screen with hits such as Good Morning Vietnam and Dead Poets Society. Like all of these stars, Williams transcended the decade, but you cannot deny the success and impact he had in the decade of discussion. My personal favorite Robin Williams movie might be the 1993 film, Mrs. Doubtfire. Like Crystal and Murray though, I would be quite happy sat down at a table and just listening to him talk about anything.

Thanks again to Patrick Mannelly for bringing up this topic!

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’s at your “80s star” dinner table?

  1. repgrind says:

    Does it have to be movies, or is television acceptable? Because the first thing that popped into my head was Tom Selleck’s Magnum PI

    • oxxo910 says:

      I’m good with that. The original tweet was “80s” star, then he changed it to movie star. Deleted the tweet as I was writing up the post and about to link it. He called an audible on me :p

Leave a Reply

