Chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake

Cheesecake has become one of my specialties. Maybe even a passion. I find it is one of the easier things to bake. Really hard to screw up and really easy to experiment with. I had the idea for this in my head for a little while. Finally, I decided to make it. Since it came out pretty good, I thought I would share it with people. You people!

  • 2 8 oz packages cream cheese (softened)
  • 2 eggs (brought to room temp)
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I like to use cane sugar)
  • 3/4 cup cookie dough (store bought or homemade)
  • 18 Oreo cookies (you could sub for an off brand, I don’t recommend it)
  • 1/4 cup butter (melted)
  • 1 tbs pure vanilla extract (if you don’t have the “good stuff” you can use 2 tbs)
  • 8 inch square or round pan

The crust: Take the filling out (unless you have used this before and prefer to keep it in for extra sweetness) of your cookies and start crumbling in your food processor. Once you get about 1/3 of them in there, add some butter to it. Continue adding cookies and butter and process until mixture is finely ground. Pour out into your baking pan. I use the back of a measuring cup and pack the crust down nice and tight. Bake this at 300 for about 7 minutes (or until you smell it). DO NOT burn your crust. It’s very easy to do, so don’t try and be all multi-tasking!

The Filling: Cream the cheese, sugar and vanilla extract. Add the eggs 1 at a time and beat until well blended. Take 1/2 cup (I actually used more, but this is what the recipe called for) of the cookie dough and break it up into about 1/2 inch sized pieces and drop into batter. Mix well. Pour into your crust. After you smooth out the batter, break up and drop the remaining (1/4 cup) cookie dough into the cheesecake. Again, I added more than the recipe called for. Bake at 325 for about 25-30 minutes.

Tip: Your oven may vary so you need to check on it at about 20-25 minutes and see how it is doing. Use the old toothpick and see if it comes out clean.

I let my cheesecakes cool in the oven with the door cracked open for about 40 minutes or so. Then cover it with some plastic wrap and let chill in the refrigerator at least 3-4 hours. This particular cheesecake tastes better the next day, so plan on making it with plenty of time before serving!

There really isn’t a whole lot I can think of to spice this up. Add more cookie dough to the mix maybe? A shot of espresso/Kahlua? Maybe some chocolate chips sprinkled on top? It’s definitely the easiest one of the cheesecakes I have made so far. Hope you like it! I’m sure Charli does!

This entry was posted in Food&Beverage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake

  1. Bugboy says:

    “There really isn’t a whole lot I can think of to spice this up.”
    I thought of one thing. Use chocolate oreos, the ones with chocolate filling, and leave the filling in. Ooohhh, mama.
    Also, do you make blueberry cheesecake? Best I’ve ever had was my uncle’s, but he unfortunately has past away. Still, I’ve been looking to get started with cheesecake to see if I could make blueberry even half as good as his, and would love a basic recipe to get started. I’m guessing it’s largely the same as above, just learning how to make the topping. Thanks for this recipe though, think I may give it a try after the holidays. Who says New Year’s resolutions can’t involve cooking great things? 😉

    • oxxo910 says:

      Hell yeah! Glad you liked it. Might have to give the chocolate oreos a go.
      My basic recipe for cheesecake is very simple. It’s basically a “Philadelphia cream cheese” recipe.
      2 8 oz packs of cream cheese. 2 eggs. 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup sugar. 1 tsp of vanilla. Cream that all up and pour into a crust. Bake for 25-30 minutes at 325. let cool outside for 30-40 minutes then refrigerate for 3-4 hours or over night.
      You can get creative after that. It’s a really. really flexible recipe. You could add some fresh blueberries to the batter after creaming it. You can then plop some in before cooking, right on top. You could do the same with canned or a blueberry compote/jam.
      It would be a lot like my cranberry recipe but blueberries instead. I’ll have to try that too when I get some blueberries!

      • Bugboy says:

        Ty ty! Sounds great man, I’ma jump into the deep end after the holidays with this. I like cooking and I’m okay at it, but just with pretty basic stuff up to this point. This seems like a great way to get more advanced; yummy, too. =)

      • Bugboy says:

        Just for reference, below is a link to a picture of what I’m talking about, except with a ring of whipped cream on the outer edge/around the crust.

      • oxxo910 says:

        That looks really good. Mine doesn’t come out that high. You would have to add at least 1 more package of cream cheese and 1 egg.

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday to me: 2 years! | Sportsbard

Leave a Reply

