My favorite songs of 2014

2014 was a decent year of music for me. I found out about a few new bands. Some rock, some pop, some–I have no idea! Let’s check it out.

AC/DC had a bit of a rough patch leading up to the release of there latest album. They deliver, especially with, “Play ball”. Classic AC/DC sound. You gotta love how they change things just enough so it’s not exactly the “same song”.

Shells– There is a lot of new talent out these days and Laurel kind of leads the charge. This UK pop singer reminds me a lot of Dolores O’Riordan from The Cranberries. Her voice is piercing and beautiful.

Boom Clap– I think I found out about this song after seeing Charli XcX’s name attached to another song I liked–I love it, by Icona Pop. She was featured on it. So naturally, I clicked on Boom Clap and the rest was history. I have a secret crush on Charli. Don’t tell her I said that!

Coming of age– Awesome song from one of my new favorite bands. This song reminds me so much of stuff that was around in the 80s and early 90s. I just love it. Foster the people, I salute you!

Team– I’m claiming this Lorde song for 2014. I don’t care when it was released. I don’t think I heard it until January or February. Either way. It’s a great song.

One Ocean– Chevelle does something a little different. A little more melodic than the usual. I dig it.

Am I wrong– I heard this song a few times and was like, “man, I love this song” and finally I found out who it was by–Nico and Vinz. Really, awesome song.

A sky full of stars– Pretty much any and all Coldplay songs would be included in the “best of” whatever year they come out, so there.

Roar– I still can’t believe this song wasn’t used by NFL football or NBA basketball in promos for their playoffs. Seemed like a great anthem for that. It was released in 2013, but I’m including it here, because I can.

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My favorite songs of 2014

  1. Pingback: Rock-in the new year! | Sportsbard

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday to me: 2 years! | Sportsbard

Leave a Reply

