11 (can’t keep hitting this wall)

11

1-10-15

It’s cold outside.

So cold tonight.

You built your wall of ice so tall.

It makes me feel so damn small.

I can’t seem to get through.

I get these feelings from you.

I can’t explain.

I live in shame.

I feel my share of blame.

I start to stare and wonder why.

It’s not from lack of effort, I try.

I can’t seem to get through.

I get these feelings from you.

You go to 10.

I go to eleven.

I guess we’re friends.

I’m on another level.

One step above.

One step behind.

We cannot seem to find.

The even ground we need.

I’ve got a heart that bleeds.

I don’t want to shut my eyes.

But I,

Can’t keep going on.

Can’t keep hitting this wall.

I can’t seem to get through.

I get these feelings from you.

You go to 10.

I go to eleven.

I guess we’re friends.

I’m on another level.

One step above.

One step behind.

We cannot seem to find.

The even ground we need.

I’ve got a heart that bleeds.

I don’t want to shut my eyes.

But I,

Can’t keep going on.

Can’t keep hitting this wall.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

