Walking Dead Weekly

The Walking Dead is back for the second half of Season 5, which means Walking Dead Weekly is back! For personal reasons the mid-season finale had effects on me. I lost a dear friend, who got me into The Walking Dead among many other interests. Tonight’s season premiere kind of brought that to the forefront many times.

****Spoilers Ahead****

Overall, I thought the episode was good, better than Season 4’s second half premiere, but nowhere close to the kickoff of Season 5. It’s very artistic and has a lot of symbolism in it. It also has flash fowards and flash backs, which really gets me confused at times. Then there is the meaningless death of one of the core members. If you haven’t seen it yet, you really should stop reading. I’ll give you one last chance to turn back….

When Noah decided to run off to check out his home, I was pretty sure someone was going to die. When Tyreese went first into the house, I knew it was him. I figured it was going to be cheap, and it was. I know strong characters have to die. They gave him a nice tribute, in that, you pretty much got to “say goodbye to him” for half of the episode, but the way it went down, pissed me off.

First of all, by now he knows how to clear a house. Second, 1 little walker is going to get the jump on him? Then there is the fact that they don’t try to cauterize the wound or even dress it properly and just drag him 2 miles to where the truck was. Yeah. Anyone would bleed to death. That part was so appalling and unrealistic. I think he as a character deserved better, and I know we, as fans did too. This coming on the back of Beth’s meaningless death at the end of the mid-season finale.

It was nice to see the push and pull for his life, and all the symbolism that went into that. When I initially saw the opening scene where they were digging a grave, I thought it was for Beth, so that was clever too. Or tricksy. Tricksy little Scott Gimple. It’s going to be interesting to see what happens to Sasha now. Tyreese was her rock. Now that he and Bob are gone, does she fall apart completely? I’m hoping she becomes a bad-ass, but one that doesn’t get someone else killed.

Not having read the comics, it makes me wonder if they are going to meet up with more people soon. It would make sense why they are paring down the crew so fast. Will they make it to Washington finally? Once again, where the heck is Morgan? I can only say at this point, his entrance is probably going to be epic.

Zombie kill of the week: There were many good ones. Glen was going deep with a baseball bat. Michonne had some beautiful slices with her sword. I’m giving it to the “new guy”, Noah, who took his little brother out with a model airplane. Welcome to the Zombie Apocalypse.

This was fun. Tune in next week for another installment!

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking Dead Weekly

  1. Armenius says:

    So Noah joins the group around the same time Tyreese dies..
    So that’s T-Dog->Oscar->Tyreese->Noah now? I guess it was nice to have Bob for a bit.

    • oxxo910 says:

      As soon as I typed it out, I remembered Morgan is still out there. So maybe they made room for him. I don’t see Noah lasting too long. Really liked T-Dog too.

Leave a Reply

