Taco Tuesday (or any day)

Tacos are pretty easy to make. Every family has their own take on them. Some more authentic than others, of course. For years, I tried to re-create a certain taste I got when I went out to a decent quality Mexican restaurant. Finally, one day at a local produce store, I asked one of the workers what they used (he was Mexican) to season their tacos (it was actually part of a conversation, I didn’t walk right up to him and say that!). He told me, “Sazon”, and ever since, I have been making restaurant quality tacos at home. It’s really that simple.

1 lb meat (I usually use ground chicken or dice up a chicken breast)

1/2 onion (if it’s small, use the whole thing) diced small

1-2 cloves fresh garlic, diced small

1 packet Sazon

1-2 tbs lime juice (this is critical with the Sazon. It won’t be terrible without out it, but it’s much better with)

Taco seasoning: You can buy it or make your own. I use chili powder, garlic powder, cumin, paprika, salt and pepper.

Taco shells: I like both, crunchy and soft shells. Sometimes I have both together. I recently have been making Double Deckers™ and they have been coming out great!

Add-ons: Shredded cheddar cheese, lettuce and sour cream. Sometimes I will do diced tomatoes, and if I feel fancy, I will make some guacamole. I have a recipe for that too!

Technique: I like to get my onion softened up, then toss in the garlic for about 30 seconds or so. I will put that aside and then brown up the meat. Once drained, I add my spices and let that cook for a couple minutes. Then I add the lime and toss the onion and garlic back in. I then add 2-3 tbs of water, depending on how dry the meat looks. Cover the meat and reduce your temp. Let cook 5-7 minutes. During this time, feel free to heat up your shells. Enjoy!

The Double Decker™– So, I mentioned these. If you have never had one at Taco Bell, it is simply a soft shelled taco wrapped around a hard shell taco, held together by refried beans! It’s quite amazing and tasty. Especially for us folks who can’t decide if we want crunchy or soft tacos!

Very simple and easy to make: Simply buy or make some refried beans. I tried out the Taco Bell refried beans and they worked well. A little high in sodium but the fat content was surprisingly low. Heat up the beans and place a lid on the pot/pan to keep them warm. When you are ready to assemble, take your soft taco shell and spread about a tablespoon of beans, starting from the center and moving out. Kind of like pizza sauce. Fill your hard shell taco with your desired fillings and place it in the center of the soft taco. Fold up both sides and press gently onto the hard shelled taco. That’s it. Hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

 

This entry was posted in Food&Beverage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

