Your Irish eyes are smilin’

Happy St. Patrick’s day! Whether you are Irish or Irish for a day, you can indulge in some Irish culture by food, drink, and music. What will you be doing today to celebrate? Have a listen to some of these Irish performers while you consider it!

Enya has always been one of my favorite artists, from the first time I saw the above listed video to all her fine albums. She has a haunting yet angelic voice.

Sinead Lohan- I caugh this song on the radio once and it stuck with me. Since then, I have only heard it a few times. I don’t know why some songs stay on our airwaves and others fade so fast. At any rate, Whatever it takes is a magnificent little song!

U2- I don’t even know where to start with this iconic rock band. I didn’t listen to them until after high school when the hype died down, but I dove in head first. All I want is you, has to be up there on my list. Bullet the blue sky is a gritty song that could have made it on to an episode of Miami Vice. Red Hill mining town is another I really like. Hard to stop at three, so I will toss in A sort of homecoming for the grand slam!

The Cranberries- I have love the cranberries from the very first time I laid ears on them. I was lucky enough to have seen them in concert. Dolores O’Riordan is both a great vocalist and an awesome stage performer. Linger is perhaps their biggest hit. Zombie is another great and powerful track. Forever yellow skies is a personal favorite.

Sinead O’Connor- Look, I know she pissed some people off, but she is still a brilliant singer/songwriter. Let bygones be bygones, at least for a day. Nothing compares 2 u was actually written by Prince! Mandinka is another great song. I remember seeing that live when she sang it at the Grammy’s.

The Drovers- Are a Chicago band with Irish roots, they have been featured in two movies set in Chicago, Backdraft and Blink. For a time they gained fame as the house band at the Cabaret Metro. Have a listen to Book of Songs.

Thin Lizzy- I only know a few songs by this great Irish rock band, but I really dig them. I first heard Whiskey in the Jar when Metallica covered it. Then there are the classics, The boys are back in town and Jailbreak, my personal favorite. Have a shamrock block!

Loreena McKennitt was born in Canada but she is an Irish soul and it shines through in her music. You can’t deny that. Don’t take my word for it, have a listen for yourself. The Mummer’s Dance was the first song I heard by this song-mistress. If you play Warcraft, you might be familiar with Arthas’ Destiny. Yep that’s her too!

I hope you enjoyed this little trip to the Emerald Isle, I did!

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

