What makes a deck, a good deck?

I got into Hearthstone, like many–just to get my Hearthsteed. I figured I would play a few games, enjoy the artwork and get out. That was about 1,494 wins ago. Not bragging, I’m sure I have at least 1,300 losses. Point is, I’m still here and I’m loving it more each day. Why? What makes this game so good? What makes a deck good?

To me, a deck has to be fun to play. Right now, it’s easy enough to head to a site and look up any amount of successful decks. I play a variation of the “Mad Trapper”. I subbed in some cards because I didn’t have certain ones, and subbed in a couple I think are better. It’s a great deck and really fun to play.

I like making decks on my own though. I try out certain things and try to implement them when I play. True enough, most of the time they don’t work out how I intend them to.

My criteria would be this:

  • Fun to play
  • Versatile
  • Cool minions
  • Not boring
  • Has to win

I’ll be honest, the deck needs to win. I’m not asking it to be dominant, but if I need to win 2, 3, or 5 matches with one class, I’d like to be able to do it and not take 2 hours. I don’t know what the average win rate is, but I’d like to be around 55%-60% if I can help it.

I also don’t mind playing a “losing deck” as long as it’s fun and I can still do some dailies. I will make a “2 cost” or a “5 cost” deck when you get the quests to play those minions. My current mage deck is a “spell” deck, that was made with “cast x spells” daily in mind.

Three amigos

I like to use Faceless Manipulator to “steal” other players legendary cards or copy my own!

I have also made a “basic” deck of every class for beginning players. Those decks were actually a lot of fun to make and test out. I have this nasty druid deck right now, when it hits, it really hits, when it misses, I still manage to make a game of it.

Nasty Druid deck

One of the dangers of so many powerful cards is that they can be stolen by priests, mages or players with Faceless Manipulator. Be warned!

One of my biggest requests is that we can save more than 9 decks. I know there are web sites or other things you can use. I have enough passwords, so I just screen shot them for now and have them to go back on if I need to.

So what makes deck a ‘good deck’ for you? Feel free to let me know in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Warcraft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

