Can Blizzard recover from getting rid of flight?

Flight in Warcraft has become a bit of a topic once again, since Blizzard announced that there may not be flight in Draenor and future expansions. It’s a bit of a curious move considering they are currently down about 3 million subscribers since the last investment call. It will be interesting to see how this news affects future subs.

WoWScrnShot_082613_184818

Oxxo ponders if he will ever be able to experience a view like this again.

Sure they will have a little surge when patch 6.2 comes out, I don’t expect it to be anywhere near the 10 million Warlords swelled to at the beginning of the expansion. My stance on flight has been well documented on this blog and over at Blizzard watch (and their former site). I’m not rehashing that again. I do wish they would make their decision and just say it’s their decision. No need to fill us with excuses or justifications. It’s their game, they have the ultimate say. I do feel they strung a portion of us along by saying it might be included in patch 6.1, then being vague about it, finally not having it come out, then being vague on whether it will be included at all. They are even a little vague now. I get that, from a business aspect, it makes sense.

From a consumers point of view, it sucks. You never want options taken away from you, especially when the price for admission was raised from $40 to $50. I would really love to know what Blizzard’s plan was going forward. If they are going to deliver quicker expansions, like Warlords–light on content, I am probably not going to be quick to shell out $50 for it. $25-$30, maybe.

I have adapted to their constant changes, from removal of portals, removal of guild perks, to the massive amounts of dailies we had available in Mists. I learned to “slow down” and “take it easy”. I even adapted to a flightless Draenor while I leveled. I get it. It’s their way or the highway. It doesn’t mean I have to like it and it definitely doesn’t mean I have to stick around and keep shelling out $15 a month. I probably will because a) I love this game and b) I’m kind of addicted to it, and some of the people I have met through it.

I’m a little concerned what this will do to the health of the game moving forward. With a movie on the horizon, there surely will be a few interested players. With another content drought though, and now the news about flight, I can see how that might further affect sub losses.

Related: If not for flight.

This entry was posted in Warcraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

