What are your favorite movie reboots?

It’s just about summer here in the states, which means the summer box office season is in full swing. We have movies out like The Avengers: Age of Ultron and Mad Max: Fury Road. Which brings me to this topic: What are your favorite movie reboots that worked for you?

I haven’t seen Mad Max yet, but it is on my list. Along with the next Terminator movie that is set to hit theaters in July.

Miami Vice– Rebooted from TV and directed by one of the original directors, Michael Mann (one of my favorites). Starring Jamie Foxx as detective Ricardo Tubbs and Collin Farrell as detective James “Sonny” Crockett. I loved the TV show and equally liked the movie. I wish they made more.

Tron: Legacy– I actually didn’t see the original, so I don’t know if this counts, but I loved the reboot, which featured Jeff Bridges in both virtual and organic form. It might even have paved the way for Arnold Schwarzenegger to return for another Terminator installment this summer.

Red Dragon– This came out many years after Michael Mann’s version, Manhunter hit the box office. Both are adaptations of the book, Red Dragon. I like this movie and thought it followed the book a slight bit more, but I like Manhunter as a movie much better. It had the same vibe as Miami Vice and a much better soundtrack!

Skyfall– I know what you are saying, “This isn’t a reboot!”. Well, it kind of is. If you saw the film, you know there is a rebooting of the franchise of sorts. I’m not going to spoil it for you. If you are a fan of the older Bond films, you will like this movie. It got me very exciting for the next few installments.

Ocean’s Eleven– Didn’t see the original, but loved the George Clooney remake. Top notch cast in this classic caper movie.

The Italian Job– Ditto here. Great ensemble cast. Probably my favorite Mark Wahlberg film. Really wished they would have got the sequel done, not sure it’s still in the works.

Clash of the Titans– Absolutely loved the original. Especially for the time it came out. It stands up OK, even today. The remake was pretty cool. Interesting enough that I enjoyed the sequel to it as well, Wrath of the Titans.

According to IMDB, there are a lot of remakes on the way. Most of which will fall short, no doubt. Especially many charming 80s movies.

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are your favorite movie reboots?

  1. Bodhi Rana says:

    Just FYI, neither Mad Max: Fury Road, nor Tron: Legacy were reboots.

    Fury Road happens sometime after Road Warrior, but it could have been before or after Thunderdome. It’s a completely different story line.

    Legacy is a good many years after the he original Tron. A child of one of the original characters is an adult.

    I highly recommend seeing the originals as well as the [for simplicity, let’s call them] sequels.

    One that is definitely a reboot, Fantastic 4. It looks to be a visually appealing flick.

  2. Bodhi Rana says:

    Just realized, I misread your question. Thought you were asking for what forthcoming reboots we are looking forward to, hence my Fantastic 4 answer.

Leave a Reply

