Brawl of the week: The Great Summoner Competition!

The new brawl for the week is live and it looks to be another interesting one. We get to build a deck again around a very simple and compelling rule: For every spell cast, summon a minion of equal cost. If you cast a 1 mana spell, you will summon a random 1-cost minion and so forth. Pretty straight forward.

The Great Summoner Competition

Come one, come all, to the Great Summoner Competition!

I didn’t really get too far into it before my opponent quit. I’d love to say it was because I was kicking his butt, however it wasn’t really that. I’m guessing they built the deck around a certain premise and it didn’t work out for them. The one thing to keep in mind, when you cast the spell, the minion is summoned and placed on your board immediately.

Mage Brawl Deck

All aboard on the spell train!

My plan was to load up on spells, obviously and throw in a couple minions that might make things interesting. I’ll have to play a few more games now to see how the deck actually does.

Another free pack!

I didn’t expect my opponent to concede on turn 4, so I missed that photo op. I do enjoy a free pack of cards though.

That’s it for this week’s brawl. Go build a nice deck and smash some faces! See you next Wednesday!

This entry was posted in Warcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brawl of the week: The Great Summoner Competition!

  1. Dobablo says:

    My minions are the 2 and 4 cost troggs (to inhibit casting), mana wyrm and flamewaker for pressure and Wild Pyromancer for early desk clears. I am concerned that is too many minions since I could get a similar minion + spell for the same cost.

    I did have Loatheb, but it since the free minion is based on mana spent as opposed to base card value which meant he is only safe to use on turn 5. I would be tempted to try Milhouse if I had him.
    Some of the random summons can really hurt yourself. Lorewalker Cho is possibly the worst.

    • oxxo910 says:

      Nice. I did go back and put the 2-cost trogg in. It makes a lot of sense. I had an opponent get Millhouse, then I Sapped him back into his deck. Ironically, I ended up summoning Millhouse with the sap. Rogue spell decks are really fun.

  2. Pingback: Back to basics: The Great Summoner Competition | Sportsbard

Leave a Reply

