What was the first sporting event you attended?

Overnight talk radio host Les Grobstein (670 AM WSCR The Score) had an interesting topic on the radio Wednesday morning: What was the first sporting event you attended, and what do you remember from it?

cloudy wrigley field

There have been a few changes to Wrigley Field since my first game, but the atmosphere remains unchanged.

My first sporting even was a Cubs game in the late 70s. I had to have been 6-7 years old at the time. I went with my summer camp on a field trip to Wrigley Field. I don’t remember too much about the game. I think it was the Atlanta Braves and Dale Murphy hit a home run. The Cubs lost. My most significant memory from that is a bunch of kids were sticking their paper cups in the fence (we were in the upper deck).

I would not attend another sporting event until I the magical year of 1988. A buddy of mine got some tickets and I was lucky enough to go with him to see the Bears. It was a bitter cold day in December as the Bears faced the Lions. QB Jim Harbaugh got his second start as a Bears QB. Even though I had 2 pairs of pants, 2 pairs of socks on we had to go into a semi-heated area at halftime to warm up. The Bears ended up winning 13-12 by a field goal from Kevin Butler.

My next Cubs game would come the following year in 1989, I went to a couple games that year. Two things I remember: A 13-16 loss to the Phillies, following a rain soaked walk to the “El” station. Eric Davis throwing the ball from right field to way up in the center field bleachers. Dude had a cannon.

So how about you? Do you remember your first sporting event? Feel free to let me know in the comments down under!

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

