What is your favorite Alan Rickman movie?

Sad news today as the passing of the iconic actor Alan Rickman is spread. I have to admit, I had lost track of the great actor over the last few years. Mostly due to the fact that I have not seen very many movies lately. Like many, my first experience with him came in Die Hard as the villain with the heavy accent. Turns out, Rickman wasn’t even German.

I’m just going to roll in chronological order here:

Hans Gruber– Rickman played the German terrorist in the classic action movie Die Hard, starring Bruce Willis. There was a great back and forth with the two actors throughout the movie. It was the kind of thing Rickman would be come to be known for. Very few actors could deliver lines like he could.

Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves– Again, Rickman played the ‘heavy’, but this was no ordinary bad guy. He took the Sheriff (George) of Nottingham to epic levels, as only Alan Rickman could. Again, he and Kevin Costner (Robin of Locksley) had quite the connection. The movie was so iconic and successful, it sprang a Mel Brooks spoof: Robin Hood: Men in Tights. I’d like to think a lot of it had to do with Rickman’s performance.

Metatron– Alan Rickman played Metatron, one of the angels sent to help the main character save the world from total destruction, in Kevin Smith’s classic poke at religion. Even if you are not a big fan of Kevin Smith, this movie is worth it just for Alan Rickman.

Galaxy Quest– As Alexander Dane, Rickman plays the “Spock” to Tim Allen’s “Kirk”, in this scifi/comedy spoof of Star Trek. I am not a Trekkie, but I loved this movie. It had an ensemble cast, well written dialogue, and awesome acting. Seems like a common theme associated to movies Rickman worked on. If you haven’t seen it, you are missing a gem.

You might be expecting me to choose a favorite, since I did pose the question. Nope. I did ask, what is your favorite? Too damn close for me to choose, plus I missed out on a bunch of his movies. Not being a Harry Potter fan, I missed possibly one of his best and most infamous roles. Something I plan to correct in the near future. So what is your favorite Alan Rickman movie? Feel free to let me know in the comments down under!

 

 

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

