My ultimate David Bowie list

If you read my blogs, you might already know my favorite David Bowie song, but there are many more. It’s almost hard to pick one, so let’s see which ones I really like!

Blue jean– I love this song. It’s groovy. It makes me want to dance. Did I mention it has saxophones and lots of real instruments? Yeah, you kids probably don’t appreciate this.

Modern Love– This has to be like 1a. I especially love listening to this on the expressway. It’s a great driving song. The drums and saxophone!

Let’s dance– It’s no secret that David Bowie had huge success in the 80s, especially in the MTV video era. I remember this video being played all the time. Reminds me of my teen years.

Rebel rebel– I always thought this could be a Rolling Stones song just as easily. High energy Rock N Roll song. This is likely to get all the people singing in the bar. Even today.

Dancing in the street– David Bowie and Mick Jagger belting out a party song? Hell yeah. This was huge in the mid 80’s. I remember the world premiere on Friday Night Videos.

China girl– I’m not sure if you would call this a ballad, but definitely slower paced that some of his songs. Just as powerful though.

Life on mars– Wasn’t really a fan of this until I watched the movie The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou. It featured Bowie’s music pretty extensively, including many acoustic adaptations by Seu Jorge.

Thursday’s Child– This is probably the last song I remember hearing on the radio by the talented Bowie. It’s a shame what mainstream pop has become today. Bowie was always classy, and this song is a great representation of that.

Changes– Classic Bowie. This song has probably been used in more movies than any other of his songs. A “coming out” song of sorts about moving on and coming into your own.

Space Oddity– An epic journey, much like Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody, where you have a multi-faceted song. It starts out slow and melodic, and then rocks out.

Suffragette City– Probably one of the first Bowie songs I encountered on the radio. Peppy. Feisty. Here to stay. Almost an anthem. Definitely a signature song.

Under pressure– Is it a Queen song? Is it a David Bowie song? It’s a great song by two of the most prolific artists of their era. While they had great success in the 80s, they certainly transcended the era. I can see their music being played a hundred years from now.

Queen Bitch– It wasn’t until I saw the movie The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, that I heard this Bowie classic. I definitely let one slip passed me. Love the guitar riff.

Heroes– I first heard this in the early 90s. I wasn’t sure if it was a new song or an old song. I loved it. I think that says a lot about David Bowie’s sound. It is is timeless and stands up in any decade.

I leave you with Seu Jorge’s version of Queen Bitch, which rolls at the end of The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou. Keep Bowie’s music close to you, and he lives on forever.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

