Threatening to break

Threatening to break

6-10-15

You fooled me once, when I was young, you took advantage of my youth. You were so sly and slick, I was the naive fool, no lessons learned on that day. Every rule broken, every code ignored, I turned my back for a minute, and you were gone. You got what you wanted, took my trust along with you, it made me who I am today, I should thank you. I didn’t see it coming, how could I be so slow? I believed in good, got betrayed, and there I stood.

Broken, beaten down, worn on the inside, hit the ground

Emotions threatening to break, no I’ll never, never.

Hoping, not to drown, sifting through the lies, that I found

Intelligence is on display, yes you are so clever, clever.

Broken, beaten down, worn on the inside, hit the ground

Emotions threatening to break, no I’ll never, never.

 

 

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

