The Daily Word

Hey, good to see you again! I’m starting to like this. Daily interaction. Thoughts being unleashed in no particular order. Only one little word to spring us into action.

Today’s word: Father’s Day. Okay, that’s kind of two words, isn’t it? Ah, well. Anyways, Father’s Day. First of all, thanks to all the dads out there. Even if you suck at being a dad. Even if you put out the minimal effort, kudos to you. As long as you are alive, you have a chance to be there for someone you love, and that could make all the difference.

As a child of divorce, I have spent my whole life not really knowing what it’s like to actually have a dad. This comes out in my poems from time to time, and eventually, will come out in my stories. How could it not? It’s been woven into the fabric of my being. For better or for worse. I’m not as bad off as some people without a dad are. Statistically, kids who grow up without a father in their life, have the deck stacked against them. They are more likely to end up in jail, and more likely to abuse alcohol, and drugs.

Okay, I didn’t intend on this being that deep or dark, but life sometimes does that I guess. I like to think, even though I am a slacker, and the black sheep of my family, that I do some good things from time to time. Writing seems to be one. Cooking is one too. I like to cook for friends and family. So there’s that.

If you are a dad who has been separated from your child(ren) do all you can to be in their lives. They will appreciate it. Do not be the dad who says you will spend time with them, then break it off. Simply don’t make the promise. Like in business, underpromise, and overdeliver. Don’t give up if your kids might not be as happy to see you as you think they should. It’s not an easy adjustment. It sucks for all involved. As time goes, they will mature. If you are at least a little in their lives you will have something to build on when they mature.

Though I didn’t grow up with a dad, I have been lucky to have a few men in my life who were father figures. Ross, my neighbor, who bought me a bicycle or two, who helped me learn to ride it. Nick, my uncle and Godfather, who gave me “the talk” after I got busted for shoplifting. He didn’t scold me. He treated me like a young man, and let me know if I ever needed anything, to come to him. Bob, my boss, and one of my best friends. He was more of an older brother, but he was a father, and someone I could confide in.

Father’s Day. A time to reflect on those who have made an impact on your life. A chance to spend some time with family.

Do you have any thoughts or feelings on the topic of Father’s Day? A personal story about a man who has made a difference in your life? Feel free to let me know in the comments down under!

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

