Some nasty decks for the Top 3 Tavern Brawl

I have been having tons of fun with this week’s Tavern Brawl: Top 3. Much like it’s little sister, Top 2, you pick the suggested amount of cards and see what happens. The deck gets filled with 10 each = 30 cards. Some combinations are better than others. Some are downright nasty (unfair really).

So let’s take a look at some of the most vile fun decks out there!

I’m just going to go in alphabetical order here:

Druid: Mill Deck- The basic idea of a mill deck is to run your opponent out of cards. Super easy with: Innervate, Naturalize, and Coldlight Oracle. If you run into one of these, and you have a slower playing deck, just concede. Not worth the agony. I have a couple decks that will beat this though. Stay tuned!

ferral-rage-healing-touch-moonglade-portal

This is something I came up with–I don’t have a name for it. It’s kind of fun. It doesn’t win all the time. Feral Rage gives you either 4 attack or 8 armor. Healing touch and Moonglade Portal heal you up. Moonglade portal gives you a random 6-cost minion. It will exhaust your opponent of cards while healing you up. Some decks it’s better than Some decks you will be dead quick.

Innervate, and Ragnaros– This was one of my favorite Top 2 decks. It’s kind of situational what you are up against. Not sure what else to put in there now. Thinking maybe Novice Engineer or Nourish.

mechwarper-ftw

Hunter: Mechwarper– This deck was brutal (and a bit unimaginative after a while) in Top 2. For Top 3, I add Quick Shot, which works good on a couple levels. It gives you some direct damage, and can draw you more cards if you run out. How the deck plays out though, you want to wait until you have enough mana to put out 2 Mechwarpers, making the 3rd cost nothing, and then your Metaltooth Leaper costs zero too. Most people will flat out quit once you drop your Mechwarpers. It beats the druid mill deck, so that is always fun.

arcane-shot-explosive-trap-quick-shot

I don’t have a name for this either. It’s an all-spell deck. Arcane Shot, Explosive Trap, and Quick Shot. The Explosive Trap is some nice control, especially vs Evolve decks, plus it does 2 damage to your opponent. It bogs down though if your opponent is not playing minions or attacking you. It’s a lot of fun and does well vs some of the repetitive decks.

babbling-book-ib-fireball

Mage: There are a couple really nasty mage decks. First one features Ice Block, which basically makes them invulnerable to most attacks*. I think mill decks win out because that damage comes on your opponent’s turn. There are a lot of combos you can try with this. Ice Lance and Frostbolt work. You can swap out Frostbolt for Forgotten Torch or Fireball. In the deck pictured, I used Babbling Book. I scrapped it though because you get a lot of spells you can’t really use.

The other deck you will see a lot involves Mana Wyrm, Arcane Explosion, and Mirror Image. There are a few variations of this. Some with Frost Nova, some with Frostbolt.

annoy-o-tron-blessing-of-kings

Paladin: You don’t see many paladin decks, but this one I came up with is kind of fun: Annoy-o-Tron, Gilblin Stalker, and Blessing of Kings. Annoy-o-Tron might cause people to concede right away. Especially if their decks rely on quick hitting small minions. The Gilblin Stalkers are great, because you can lay them down and wait to buff them.

Priest: Priests have some really fun decks. You will see a lot of people running Northshire Cleric, and any number of cards to buff it up. It generates more cards when healed, so it is ideal for this brawl.

One of my favorite priest decks involves Lightwell, Inner Fire, and Divine Spirit. If you have never tried this in games before, basically buff up your Lightwell, then use Inner Fire to have it’s attack match it’s health. Since it heals too, it’s a dual threat.

holy-smite-mind-blast-thoughtsteal

Another fun priest deck has Holy Smite and Mind Blast at it’s core. I threw in Thoughtsteal to mix things up. Toyed with the idea of boosting it up with spell power, but never got to it.

questing-adv-conceal-rogue

Rogue: Rogues have a lot of fun decks. Most of them are variations of Conceal, a low-cost minion, and a buff card. I did one with Conceal, Swashburgler, and Questing Adventurer. Swashburgler is kind of neat because you get more spells with it, and it puts a body on the board.

evolve-and-destroy

Shaman: Evolve decks are probably the main ones you will see people using. I saw one player using Ancestor’s Call which was really neat. Especially in concert with Deathwing, Dragonlord. I don’t have either one of those cards, so I worked with what I had. Evolve, Echoing Ooze, and Tuskaar Totemic probably worked the best for me. I did have one with Rockbiter Weapon and Novice Engineer, but that didn’t seem to work as well. Probably could have replaced Rockbiter for another minion.

bolster-top-3-win

Warrior: Pretty much only one warrior deck going around is Bolster because it’s absolutely brutal. Target Dummy, Bolster (which was the Top 2 comp) and I threw in Rampage because I am a freaking jerk! (not really, but it can be particularly devastating) You basically want to wait until you can throw 2-3 Target Dummies down then Bolster it. I can only play this deck 2-3 times in a row before I feel like a big bully.

this-will-even-eat-a-mill-deck-rawr

Warlock: Warlocks have lots of options here, but the most fun for me is the Soulfire/Fist of Jaraxxus  combo that stomped in the Top 2 brawl. Add in Silverware Golem for extra laughs. This deck is devastating and can tear up the druid mill deck. I have not faced it vs a warrior Bolster deck, but it probably handles that too. I crafted Fist on my 2nd account, just so I could play this comp. For some reason, I never feel bad playing it, unlike the other ubiquitous decks. Must be my inner warlock.

So there we go. Now that you have some ideas, you can go compete with any class. I still like tinkering around with different things. I still haven’t played a Yogg deck in this brawl, but that is something I want to do. Might put it in a druid or Mage deck and see what kind of trouble I can come up with. Hope you are having as much fun with this brawl as I am!

Related: 7 deadly comps for Top 2

*Damage that takes place on your turn via an effect or Secret will not be stopped.

 

 

This entry was posted in Hearthstone and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some nasty decks for the Top 3 Tavern Brawl

  1. Dobablo says:

    The warlock discard deck works very well when the third card is Malcazaar’s Imp.
    I cheesed out some turn 5/6 OTK with a mage deck of Apprentice, Arcane Intellect and Forgotten Torch.
    The druid Raven + Innervate + Y’Shaarj feels similarly cheesy.
    Top 3 has a lot of variability and is great for knocking off quests.

    • oxxo910 says:

      The imp would probably be more optimal as it feeds you cards. Can’t go wrong either way. Totally agree that this brawl is excellent for dailies. Especially if you only need 2-3 wins of any class. The 5 win quest might be a little harder depending on class. Thanks for the comment!

  2. repgrind says:

    I tried a couple of different ones, both druid. Innervate is just so great to get something bigger on the board fast. Besides that, in the first deck I had Prince Malchezaar and Yogg. Yogg wasn’t all that great though, something else would probably be better, but with all of the extra cards Prince M added, it survived the mill decks. It was just lacking in ways to kill off boards .. maybe swipe or wrath would have been useful.
    The second one I copied from Brian Kibler’s stream. Innervate, Barnes, and Deathwing:Dragonlord. As long as your first or second Barnes puts out a copy of DD and you have a couple of dragons in your hand, you’re in good shape. Especially if you face a mill deck that can fill your hand with dragons. They concede pretty fast when they see four 12/12 dragons hit the board!

    • oxxo910 says:

      Haha! Yeah. I don’t have that version of Deathwing, but I had it played on me a couple of times. Depending on my decks, I would concede if I saw a druid start using innervate. Some of them were built for facing mill decks, so I would keep playing. Some of the ones I was messing with were not. Overall, I had a blast with Top 3. I doubt we will ever see Top 2 again. I feel like this was kind of a correction to that one. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

