Brawl of the week: Yellow-Brick Brawl

This week’s Tavern Brawl is a new one inspired by the Karazhan PvE adventure. First, you make a deck of 10 cards and they will give you 3 copies of each card you pick. Then you chose to play the cards to get Charge or Taunt. I was a little unclear how this worked when I made my first deck.

yellow-brick-brawl

Yellow-Brick Brawl. You down with YBB?

At first, I tried out the priest. 10 cards is maybe 4-5 cards to many. Too many choices. Too many directions to go off into–for me. I’m sure by 5 or 6 pm, you will start seeing some tough, well thought out decks.

priest-brawl

Strike one!

Then I went druid. Again, the choices seemed to work against me. Trying to do too much. It works in my head; then you go up against a [expletive deleted] who plays a bunch of small minions as Taunts, only you don’t have anything to take them out with!

druid-brawl

Sti-riiiike two!

So then I said [screw] it. I’ll show you! I’ll mill your [bottom]. Only, this is my 2nd account and I don’t have all those juicy cards that work with that deck. I threw something together.

charge-or-taunt

Charge to the left, Taunt to the right.

This is what the Brawl itself looks like. “Dorothy” is in the middle. To the left, your minions get Charge. To the right, they get Taunt.

rogue-brawl

The rogue mill deck was a hit.

If you have a full array of cards, the rogue mill deck might be one of the better decks in this brawl. I don’t have any of the Naxxramas cards, so I was a little bit handicapped. I frustrated my opponent enough to concede though. Made him waste a bunch of buff cards. I’ll take it.

mill-ya-later

Mill ya later!

Yellow-Brick Brawl is easy to learn, hard to master. There is a definite skill curve. It also depends what kind of decks you play. Since you pick your class, you can get all your dailies done during it. So get on in there. Have some fun, pick up your free pack. See ya next week!

This entry was posted in Hearthstone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brawl of the week: Yellow-Brick Brawl

  1. repgrind says:

    I really lucked out. I chose paladin because I had a quest to play paladin cards, and I let it auto-build a deck for me just to see what the brawl was about, because I’m lazy. Shielded bots to charge and Argent Protectors to shield whatever I put on the taunt side turned out to be too much for my opponent. Got my pack and called it a day.

    • oxxo910 says:

      Very good strat. I have only played the few brawls I needed to, to get my packs and write my post. It seems like a minion filled deck probably works the best. I would not be surprised if mage/hunter mech decks were not really tough. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Dobablo says:

    Hello Patron Warrior. We have missed you. Ancient Watchers and Eerie Statue are huge fun killers.

Leave a Reply

