Brawl of the week: Blood Magic

This week’s Tavern Brawl is: Blood Magic (cue the RHCP). Basically, all your spells cost health instead of mana. This should make for some wild ass brawls. I wan’t sure how I was going to like this, if at all, but I got lucky and won my first match.

blood-magic

Blood Magic: craft your decks carefully!

My opponent had way too many spells, and used a lot of them on minions, which to me, was silly. This battle uses Wild Rules, which means you can use every card in your library.

spells-cost-health-instead-of-mana

Spells do not have mana costs, as you see. Plan accordingly!

I went a couple different ways here. First one was to use only heavy hitting spells like Fireball (or low mana/high impact cards like Ice Lance and Frostbolt). The second thing, was try and lower the spell/health cost. The third, was my little secret*, and it worked! If you check out the list of cards I used, you will probably spot it.

secret-weapon

I got a secret! (and no, it’s not the spell!)

So go on and get in there before the hard core players come in and stack their decks with crazy cards/combos. Get that free pack and enjoy! See you next week.

with-1-health-left-they-concede

With 1 health left, they concede

*There are 2 minions that can really impact the game: The Violet Illusionist is a neutral minion from the Karazhan adventure–it makes you invulnerable on your turn. The other is a mage minion, Animated Armor, available from The League of Explorers adventure–allows you to only take 1 damage at a time.

This entry was posted in Hearthstone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brawl of the week: Blood Magic

  1. repgrind says:

    Hm .. this might be a good one to find a use for the Prophet Velen that I have never made a deck for yet.

    • oxxo910 says:

      Yeah, if you can get him out early. Maybe try using the Mech that puts a random minion on the board. Most matches should be over by round 7 unless your opponent has bad luck or a bad deck.

      • repgrind says:

        Yep games didn’t last long enough. BUT I did manage to win on buffing up a Priest of the Feast, so he would heal me each time I buffed him.

      • oxxo910 says:

        Man, I would have loved to have seen that. I bet it felt magnificent. I’ve been doing mage decks mostly, but needed to play some demons (15) and 2 cost minions (30), so I made a lock deck. Probably pissed a couple people off, but the games were over quick. Sucks when you don’t need “wins” and you rack them up, lol. It’s a pretty fun brawl. I think I might make a mage deck with a bunch of Spellpower minions, just so I can see how much I can get a fireball or Pyroblast up to :p

Leave a Reply

