NFL to change overtime rules; MLB should take notice

The NFL power brokers met in Chicago today. Among rule changes were cutting overtime down from 15 minutes to 10 minutes. I applaud this. Not because I think the games are too long, or uninteresting–far from it. I think it is in the best interest for the players.

You can’t say you are all about the players and then expect them to play on short rest, then go out and play extra football. 5 minutes might not seem like a big deal, but after you played 60 minutes it can be. I would still love them to get rid of Thursday night football (except for Thanksgiving Day), but that is another story. This is a win for the players, and the health of the NFL going forward.

The MLB needs to do the same. First of all, 162 games is too long. Factor in all the double-headers, and times where they play day games after night games. It’s a grueling schedule. Don’t believe me? Ask the broadcasters who only have to call the ballgame. Major League Baseball is currently looking into extra innings solutions, and I don’t know what the answer is just yet, but I would limit them to 3 innings. If you can’t decide the outcome of a game after 12 innings, either make it a tie, or come up with something less stressful for everyone involved.

They also decided to let players celebrate more after touchdowns. This is another win for the NFL. I am extremely happy at this. I loved the flair Chad Johnson and Terrell Owens brought to the game after scoring a TD. Scoring TDs are hard. Let the players (and us as fans) enjoy it. As long as it’s not taunting or delaying the game, I say let them go. This is a great move, and one I am absolutely looking forward to this season.

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NFL to change overtime rules; MLB should take notice

  1. Dobablo says:

    I never understood why North American sports seem to be culturally adverse to tied games. Then again, my country did invent cricket; a game that can take 5 days and still end in a draw.

Leave a Reply

